Breaking News: Asia Cup 2023’s Mind-Blowing Schedule and Intense Rivalries!

Breaking News: Asia Cup 2023's Mind-Blowing Schedule and Intense Rivalries!

As the impending Asia Cup 2023 looms on the horizon, it heralds a crucial examination. Set to kick off on August 30, this tournament serves as a significant trial for all participating teams, offering a litmus test before the imminent World Cup 2023, scheduled for October 5. The competition will involve six formidable contenders: India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Nepal. The Asia Cup’s arena will span the landscapes of Sri Lanka and Pakistan, with the contest following the 50-over format. Delve into the following compendium for an exhaustive grasp of the event.

Retracing the Legacy of the Illustrious Asia Cup:

The inaugural chapter of this esteemed saga unfolded in 1984, featuring a triumvirate of participants: Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and India. It was under the captaincy of Sunil Gavaskar that India emerged as the first victors. Subsequently, the annals of time have borne witness to 15 editions of this tournament, with India securing the coveted title most frequently. The men in blue have claimed the laurels on seven occasions. Sri Lanka holds the second position in terms of honors, boasting six crowns, including the most recent. Pakistan, having secured the championship twice, last accomplished this feat in 2012.

Compilation of Champions in the Asia Cup:

Year Champion Runner-Up Host Format
1984 India Sri Lanka UAE ODI
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan Sri Lanka ODI
1988 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh ODI
1990–91 India Sri Lanka India ODI
1995 India Sri Lanka UAE ODI
1997 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka ODI
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh ODI
2004 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka ODI
2008 Sri Lanka India Pakistan ODI
2010 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka ODI
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh ODI
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh ODI
2016 India Bangladesh Bangladesh T20
2018 India Bangladesh UAE ODI
2022 Sri Lanka Pakistan UAE T20

Hosts and Configuration of the Asia Cup:

Pakistan is the designated host for the tournament, though only four out of the 13 matches will transpire within its borders. The remaining encounters are slated to unfold on the grounds of Sri Lanka. This decision was prompted by the political tensions between the two nations, with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) declining to participate on Pakistani soil.

With the advent of the Asia Cup 2023, the ODI format makes a return, in harmony with the impending ODI World Cup. The previous year had witnessed the dominance of the T20 format.

The tournament will encompass two groups, each comprising three teams. These teams will engage in a complex round-robin structure. Following this initial phase, one team from each group will be eliminated, while the others will proceed to the Super Four stage.

From this Super Four crucible, the top two teams will ascend to the final face-off.

The Groups are Delineated as Follows:

Group A – Comprising India, Pakistan, and Nepal
Group B – Comprising Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan

Timetable of Asia Cup 2023:

August 30: Pakistan vs. Nepal, Multan, 3:30 PM IST
August 31: Bangladesh vs. Sri Lanka, Pallekele, 1 PM IST
September 2: Pakistan vs. India, Pallekele, 1 PM IST
September 3: Bangladesh vs. Afghanistan, Lahore, 1:30 PM IST
September 4: India vs. Nepal, Pallekele, 1 PM IST
September 5: Afghanistan vs. Sri Lanka, Lahore, 3:30 PM IST
September 6: A1 vs. B2, Lahore, 3:30 PM IST
September 9: B1 vs. B2, Colombo, 2 PM IST
September 10: A1 vs. A2, Colombo, 2 PM IST
September 12: A2 vs. B1, Colombo, 2 PM IST
September 14: A1 vs. B1, Colombo, 2 PM IST
September 15: A2 vs. B2, Colombo, 2 PM IST
September 17: To Be Decided vs. To Be Decided, Colombo, 2 PM IST

Global Broadcast of Asia Cup 2023:

In India, the Asia Cup 2023 matches will be aired live on the Star Sports network. The digital realm of Disney+ Hotstar will provide live streaming.

In Pakistan, the spectacle will be relayed through PTV Sports and Ten Sports.

Sri Lanka will present this extravaganza through SLRC Network and Star Sports.

Afghanistan will feature the Asia Cup 2023 matches live on Ariana TV.

Ghazi TV will telecast the matches in Bangladesh.

In Nepal, Star Sports network will bring the Asia Cup 2023 matches to the audience.

Enumeration of Asia Cup 2023 Squads:

India: Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma (c), the roster encompasses Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Vice-Captain Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, and Prasidh Krishna. The role of Travelling Reserve is occupied by Sanju Samson.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c) leads the squad, featuring Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, and Shaheen Afridi.

Bangladesh: The helm of the squad rests with Shakib Al Hasan (c), with Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Naim, Shamim Hossain, Tanzid Hasan, and Tanzim Hasan in the ranks.

Nepal: The captaincy is entrusted to Rohit Paudel, while the squad features Mahamad Asif Sheikh, Kushal Bhurtel, Lalit Rajbanshi, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sandeep Lamichhane, Karan KC, Gulshan Kumar Jha, Aarif Sheikh, Sompal Kami, Pratish GC, Kishor Mahato, Sundeep Jora, Arjun Saud, and Shyam Dhakal.

Sri Lanka and Afghanistan are yet to unveil their squads.

Spread the love
Author Avatar

Hey there, I'm Nitish, and I'm the writer fueling the content at I've always been passionate about staying in the know when it comes to daily news and events, and now I get to share that enthusiasm with you.

Leave a Comment